Reviews

8.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.7
Comfort
8.4
Property location
9.2
Facilities
8.2
Staff
8.7
Value
8.4

Reviews

    gb

    Review score

    5.8
    9 September 2018

    it was okay

    There was inconsistent provision of hot water. access to ski storage and lounge were after 8 am which was late for preparing breakfast and hitching to the ski hill for 9 am.
    Good location A microwave was available with a kettle for our use
    MuzzA.
    au

    Review score

    7.1
    31 August 2018

    Chil'in Games at Las Trancas!

    The Chil'in stumbles along like a happy sailor, with staff that are casually helpful and fun. The hostel rooms can be noisy at night (bring your plugs) and space is tight, but it's good value. There are no shuttles to the 'killer' ski and board resort Nevados De Chillian? The bathrooms need a refurbishment. There is no fridge nor cutlery in the hostel kitchen.
    Great location, fun staff, tasty food in the restaurant, and interesting guests from all over the globe. No early breakfast is offered. (But the mini market is just down the street). Manager Sara keeps every one happy and speaks and writes excellent english to enquires and the many ''instant" guests. The hostel and quality rooms with on - suites in the seperate building are good value and offer various options. The local draft Chillian beer tastes good.
    francisco
    cl

    Review score

    8.3
    25 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ellen
    be

    Review score

    7.5
    23 November 2017

    Good place but only go there in high season

    The personnel was friendly but not spontaneous. I felt like an intruder. There are almost no kitchen facilities so you have no option to prepare something yourself. Do NOT go in November, almost no other travelers and there is nothing open. No restaurants, no tour operators, so there is nowhere to eat and nothing to do. Nonetheless the region is beautiful.
    This is a price/quality hostel. Easy to reach, nice place, amazing surroundings and it’s clean.
    Manuel
    ve

    Review score

    10
    3 November 2017

    Cool

    Brian
    cl

    Review score

    9.6
    28 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    24 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Amir
    us

    Review score

    5.8
    9 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sangyul
    kr

    Review score

    10
    6 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pit M
    bg

    Review score

    10
    8 May 2017

    Awesome weekend off-season

    Internet didn't reach the cabin as it was a little further, but the cabin was great even without that.
    Staff was very helpful. We originally booked a room, but they switched us to a whole cabin at no additional cost, because the cabin was warmer. The facilities are very nice, new and clean. I was feeling very comfortable and at home. The food in the restaurant is very good. I loved their Onion French soup. The bus passes on the road just in front of the Hostel.
    Guenther
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    25 April 2017
    In off season , as now , its a quite place and not expensive. I stayed a week in a nice dorm for some 6000 Pesos ( about 10 US ). During the week I was the only guest. On the weekend other guests came. You can do real great hiking in this area. And climb the Volcanoes. Its outstanding scenery, thats all I can say ( and have visited more than 100 countries , and climbed the highest mountains in 30 of them.) If you are more for the winter sport, be prepared for lots and lots of people and high prices ( So , I have been told, ) Chill in has a good Restaurant, which again is very reasonable priced ( I do not know if ptices here change in high season) . Like most winter sport resort places these days, Las Trancas has some Mountain biking activities in off season. Late April is a good time if you like the fall colours. Snow covered Volcanoes, blue sky, red forrest
    Mark
    au

    Review score

    7.1
    22 February 2017
    The staff were wonderfully helpful, the location was beautiful.
    Lisa
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    8 September 2018

    Good location, mediocre food, bad service, awful WiFi

    This is not a hostel. It is a restaurant that rents dorm rooms and motel rooms. The staff are not friendly and not helpful. The restaurant is overpriced for mediocre food (mountain town tax). Service was not great. WiFi was horrendous and rarely worked no matter where we were on the property. Breakfast was not included and the room where the tea kettle is located was sometimes locked preventing us from making our own coffee/breakfast.
    Location was convenient. Property was beautiful. Room was large and comfortable, which allowed us to unpack and organize while we were there. Large, comfortable bed. Bathroom was large and had two shower heads which was cool.
    Pablo
    cl

    Review score

    8.8
    28 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.